Board of Canvassers GENERAL ELECTION NOVEMBER 5, 2024

The Commissioners of the Preston County Commission will be sitting as the Board of Canvassers on **Tuesday, November 12**, **2024** at **11:00** a.m. located at the Election Center, 157 Plaza Court, Kingwood, WV.

STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA, COUNTY OR PRESTON, Ss:

The Preston County Commission met at 11:00 a.m., November 12, 2024, as a Board of Canvassers for the November 5, 2024, General Election in the Preston County Election Center at the Corner Mall, Kingwood Plaza.

The meeting was called to order by President Don Smith who declared the following Commissioners present: Samantha Stone, Hunter Thomas, and Don Smith.

The Commissioners continued as a Board of Canvassers with all Commissioners present, Don Smith, Hunter Thomas, and Samantha Stone as well as County Clerk, Linda Huggins, and County Administrator Nathan Raybeck.

Also, in attendance was Jennifer Graham, Dominion Post and Jacob Martin, PCN&J.

County Clerk, Linda Huggins administered an Oath of Canvass to all the individuals in attendance as Canvass Board Members for the 2024 General Election.

Canvassing Teams were made up of the following individuals:

Team #1: Angie Lipscomb, Ellen Riggs, Angie Whetsell, and Dianna Hartman

Team #2: Tara Myers, Laura Hooton, Carl Ervin, and Janet Robinson

A third team was added later that consisted of:

Team #3: Linda Huggins, Nichelle Powers, Carrie Davis, and Deanna Lively,

Precinct #27 was chosen to be canvassed at the November 12, 2024, regular meeting of the Preston County Commission, held prior to canvassing.

One hundred sixteen (116) Provisional Ballots were presented before the County Commission for their decision whether to count or not.

Commissioner Thomas moved to accept twenty-six (26) of the provisional ballots to count. Commissioner Stone seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken with Commissioners Thomas, Stone and Smith voting yes. Motion carried.

Six (6) Absentee Ballots were presented to the County Commission for their consideration whether to count or not.

Commissioner Thomas made a motion to accept three (3) Absentee ballots and include them in the final totals. Commissioner Stone seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken with Commissioners Thomas, Stone and Smith voting yes. Motion carried.

At 12:20 p.m., County Administrator, Nate Raybeck announced a brief recess for lunch.

Nichelle Powers pulled the Canvass Report and totals for the 2024 General Election. The totals were verified by the Commission.

At 5:02 p.m., Commissioner Stone moved to DECLARE the 2024 General Election results as stated. Commissioner Thomas seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken with Commissioners Stone, Thomas and Smith voting yes. Motion carried.

At 5:02 p.m., President Smith officially adjourned as a Board of Canvassers.

Commissioner
Commissioner
Commissioner
000

11/12/2024